Sean Chen - Cliburn Masterpiece Series

Sean Chen - Cliburn Masterpiece Series

Starting on February 21, 2021 3:00 pm

At Online

Posted by Daniel McCullough

Categories: PianoFest

Tags: Classical


Every other Sunday – 2 p.m. CT
To watch premieres at listed times: Facebook and YouTube
To watch later on-demand: Facebook, YouTube, IGTV,

Cliburn Masterpiece is a series that examines the who, what, when, where, and how of the greatest piano works. Cliburn laureates and other esteemed specialists, in and outside the field of music, join host Buddy Bray to lead us through the story of each piece—the composer, the background, the narrative, the characters, the technical difficulties, and more. Each episode ends with a standout, full performance of the piece from a past Van Cliburn International Piano Competition.

February 21

SCRIABIN Sonata No. 5, op. 53
featuring Sean Chen, 2013 Cliburn third prize and 2013 American Pianists Awards winner
+ Jerome Lowenthal, pianist