From Cleveland with Love

From Cleveland with Love

Starting on September 10, 2017 3:30 pm

At Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall | Butler University

Posted by Lee Clifford

Categories: Grand Encounters

Tags: Classical

Rendezvous with emerging Russian pianist Nikita Mndoyants, winner of the 2016 Cleveland International Piano Competition. This solo performance is set in the intimate Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall on the campus of Butler University.


Six Bagatelles, Op. 126 by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Overture to “Tannhäuser” by Richard Wagner (1813 – 1883) arr. F. Liszt (1811 – 1886)


Variations on a Theme by Paganini (2007) by Nikita Mndoyants (1989-)

Sonata No. 8 in B-flat Major, Op. 84 by Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)

Read 2013 American Pianists Awards winner Sean Chen's piece on the Overture to “Tannhäuser.”

Read a profile of Nikita Mndoyants in our blog.

Watch as Nikita performs Beethoven's Concerto No. 4 in G Major, Op. 58 with The Cleveland Orchestra at the 2016 Cleveland International Piano Competition: