Sean Chen

2013 American Pianists Awards winner Sean Chen


Hailed as a charismatic rising star with “an exceptional ability to connect with an audience combined with an easy virtuosity” (Huffington Post), American pianist Sean Chen, winner of the 2013 American Pianists Awards and third prize winner at the 2013 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, has continued to earn accolades for “alluring, colorfully shaded renditions” (New York Times) and “genuinely sensitive” (LA Times) playing. Sean was also named a 2015 fellow by the prestigious Leonore Annenberg Fellowship Fund for the Performing Arts.




2013 American Pianists Awards finals performing Piano Concerto No. 2 in G Major by Béla Bartók



French Suite No. 5 in G minor, BWV 816 by J.S. Bach

 Three Etudes, Op. 18 by Béla Bartók

Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58 by Ludwig van Beethoven

"La Valse" by Maurice Ravel






Sean Chen's website

To request a performance, please contact Milner Fuller, Artistic Administrator, at or 317.940.8445



Back to Past Winners

Sign up for our Newsletter